Latest News


Wings Over America
Wings Over America
(2013 Remaster)

2006-Nov-01: LOVE's November 21st Release

LOVE album coverThe soundtrack of Cirque du Soleil's The Beatles LOVE album is scheduled to be released on November 21st on CD and DVD-Audio/DVD-video. The soundtrack produced by Sir George Martin and his son Giles has won rave reviews from the surviving Beatles. Sir Paul says: "This album puts the Beatles back together again, because suddenly there’s John and George with me and Ringo. It’s kind of magical."

Ringo adds: "I loved the show and I loved the music! I think the show is really exciting. I thought the effects, the people doing their stuff, the projections were great, too much, really! I thought it was very emotional; who knew a few years ago when The Beatles were just chatting to each other making those records that we could put it to such great use. And it was emotional because two of us aren't there. Overall, it's a festival of love. Peace and love. George and Giles did such a great job combining these tracks. It’s really powerful for me and I even heard things I’d forgotten we’d recorded."

Yoko Ono says: “The album has the feeling of love and that’s why the title is Beatles LOVE. They have let everything that is beautiful and daring come out.”

And Olivia Harrison agrees: “The music is stunning. I think the most amazing thing about it is that you can pull it apart and all the elements carry with it the essence of the entire song.”

During a 45-minute press preview of the album today, Giles Martin explained that the 5.1 stereo soundtrack, features newly created "mashups" which mix in bass lines from one Beatles classic and guitar parts from other songs. He revealed that the only new music used in the production of the soundtrack was George Martin's score to accompany "take one" of While My Guitar Gently Weeps. The original track ( included on The Beatles Anthology 3) only contained George Harrison on acoustic guitar and vocals and John Lennon on organ. Originally, Olivia Harrison didn't like the idea of using the early version of the song and Sir George Martin as nervous about writing the new arrangement. In the end, Olivia loved the new version.

Here is the tracklisting for the LOVE album:

1. Because
2. Get Back
3. Glass Onion
4. Eleanor Rigby Julia (Transition)
5. I Am The Walrus
6. I Want To Hold Your Hand
7. Drive My Car/The Word/What You’re Doing
8. Gnik Nus
9. Something Blue Jay Way (Transition)
10. Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite!/I Want You (She’s So Heavy)/Helter Skelter
11. Help!
12. Blackbird/Yesterday
13. Strawberry Fields Forever
14. Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows
15. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds
16. Octopus’s Garden
17. Lady Madonna
18. Here Comes The Sun The Inner Light (Transition)
19. Come Together/Dear Prudence Cry Baby Cry (Transition)
20. Revolution
21. Back In The U.S.S.R.
22. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
23. A Day In The Life
24. Hey Jude
25. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
26. All You Need Is Love

(kindly submitted by PLUGGED correspondent Joan M. Hopkins)


©1994-2013 Harald Gernhardt. All Rights Reserved