Latest News

New
New

new
Wings Over America
Wings Over America
(2013 Remaster)
new

1998-Sep-29: Internet Chat details, and a mysterious fax!

Internet Chat details

The Fireman's chat will take place on Friday evening October 2, from 7pm to 8pm GMT - that's from 11 am to 12 noon Pacific time or 2pm to 3pm Eastern time.

The chat will be hosted on www.fire-man.com, the home of the fireman!

A mysterious fax from "a fireman's friend"

Matt Hurwitz, publisher of Good Day Sunshine magazine and long-term friend of this site, has just received a mysterious fax from England from "a fireman's friend." It says:

"As you probably know, there have been persistent rumors of late that an occasionally-erotic CD of ambient chill-out music, called "Rushes" by The Fireman, is not the work of The Fireman at all, but is rumored in fact to be the music of Paul McCartney - collaborating with that renowned producer of ambience, Youth.

This rumor is, of course, quite untrue. The documented fact that some years back (1993) Sir P. McC and Youth released another album ("strawberries, oceans ships forest") under the nom de guerre The Fireman has nothing whatsoever to do with it.

Of equal untruth is the claim that Rushes is being promoted by the inclusion of a totally naked woman on the inner sleeve of the CD, and that lifesized posters of said naked lady are going up around clubland soon.

Similarly, it would be massively incorrect to assert that Sir P. McC has anything whatsoever to do with the fact one track on the Rushes album (called "Fluid") features the quite obvious sounds of a woman engaged in what the late & great Derek Taylor called "charvering."

On the same (wildly speculative) fact, Sir P. McC's publicist could not, of course, possibly comment on documented affidavits form DJs all over Europe whom - when asked ot fill in the record company's DJ Reaction forms - voted The Fireman's "Rushes" to be great music to charver to.

ALSO the muted publicist is completely unable to confirm talk that The Fireman will be going on the internet this Friday from 7pm to 8pm GMT (2pm to 3pm ET) on:

http://www.fire-man.com  

to explain (a) himself and (b) his complete and utter lack of association with Sir P. McC."

We'll have to wait and see what The Fireman has to say for himself. In the meantime, check out the site, and, at the appropriate time, submit your questions to the man whose candle never goes out.

Matt Hurwitz Publisher Good Day Sunshine Magazine


Home

©1994-2013 Harald Gernhardt. All Rights Reserved