The Beatles Live! at the Star-Club in Hamburg, Germany; 1962

Label Overseas Records
Made by Teichiku Records Co., LTD. Japan
Catalog # 38CP-44
Copyright/Release Date 1985
Total Playing Time 72:58

Song titles and timings as listed in booklet:

1. Introduction 0:20
2. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry (Over You) 2:44
3. I Saw Her Standing There 2:28
4. Roll Over Beethoven 2:23
5. Hippy Hippy Shake 1:48
6. Sweet Little Sixteen 3:07
7. Lend Me Your Comb 1:52
8. Your Feet's Too Big 2:23
9. Twist And Shout 2:21
10. Mr. Moonlight 2:35
11. A Taste Of Honey 2:00
12. Besame Mucho 3:05
13. Reminiscing 1:47
14. Kansas City ~ Hey Hey Hey 2:20
15. Where Have You Been All My Life 1:56
16. Hully Gully 1:36
17. Till There Was You 2:04
18. Nothin' Shakin' (But The Leaves On The Trees) 1:33
19. To Know Her Is To Love Her 3:11
20. Little Queenie 3:58
21. Falling In Love Again 2:08
22. Ask Me Why 2:37
23. Be-Bop-A-Lula 2:31
24. Hallelujah I Love Her So 2:12
25. Sheila 2:04
26. Red Sails In The Sunset 2:09
27. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby 2:34
28. Matchbox 2:39
29. I'm Talking About You 1:56
30. Shimmy Shake 2:27
31. Long Tall Sally 1:51
32. I Remember You 2:01


This CD was released in Japan during 1985. The source appears to be the same master tapes used for the Lingasong (Germany)/RCA (Britain)/Atlantic (U.S.) Star-Club vinyl releases in 1977. This CD contains every song released from this performance (to the best of my knowledge). It also has a 24-page booklet with liner notes (all in Japanese) plus song lyrics in Japanese and English. Be-Bop-A-Lula and Hallelujah I Love Her So are sung by Horst Obber or Horst Fascher (depending on source) a German waiter/bouncer backed by the Beatles (he befriended them and served as their bodyguard while in Germany). Although Hully Gully is credited to the Beatles it is not them. This is also confirmed in Allen Wiener’s book "The Beatles Ultimate Recording Guide" as well as other sources. A few of the songs have a different "sound or feel" to them ("I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry" and "Sheila" for example). Explanations put forth have included: 1. Different or incomplete mixing during the restoration process in 1976-1977, 2. This is a combination of at least two nights of recording done by "Kingsize" Taylor, 3. Some of the songs were recorded from different locations within the club. More than likely it is a combination of the final two explanations.

Many thanks to for submitting this complete page.

Back | Home